Dealing with Over-Exposure Pt 1: Intro

How often is it that the subject is smiling, the focus is set, the setting if vibrant and full of color, and the camera takes a photo which turns out almost completely white? It happens, and when taking photos with the sun directly overhead, it happen quite often.
As I understand it, over exposure depends on how much hard light is in an area, how wide open the aperture is, the ISO setting, and the shutter speed. It’s a lot to keep track of.

I generally keep my ISO at its lowest setting, 100, to avoid the ‘noise’ which comes with a higher setting. I enjoy a wide open aperture because of the speed. So most of the time it comes down to my shutter speed. If the speed is too fast, the photo looks like it was taken with a dark filter over the lens, and the photo still has hard contrast of light. If the speed is set to slow, the photo is predominantly white, leaving out all the beautiful color.

I don’t typically try to shoot over exposed photos, but I do have some personal methods for making them look nicer so that they don’t go in my delete folder.This weeks photography challenge has a lot of content, so I may end up breaking it into a few posts over a few days.

Leave a Reply

