Kitchen Fun Kimchi

Last week I was inspired to do a kitchen experiment and recruited some friends to make kimchi.
It was a straight forward recipe, so I didn’t feel the need to keep notes on how much I used, but I can still share the method.

What I used was:
Daikon radish
Cabbage
Onion
Garlic
Ginger
Chili powder
Salt
Sugar

I chopped up the cabbage, radish and onion.
Next I diced the garlic, and ginger.
I mixed everything in a large pot adding a little sugar (maybe 3tbs), and lots of salt and chili powder. Then I mixed everything again.
At the end, all the vegetables were coated in a little salt, and a decent amount of chili powder.
I let everything sit for 10 minutes, letting the salt draw out the liquid of the cabbage and radish. The I sealed the contents of the pot into 7 clean jars and left them in a cool space on my counter.
Over the next few days, the natural enzymes of the cabbage caused the inside of the jar to pickle with all the spices, releasing natural sugars and macrobiotics.
When we next opened the jars we had our kimchi, which then vanished after a few days. It’s was delicious.

In the spirit of my last post, and because I see this kind of shot on some of my favorite cooking blogs, I added the lomo effect to all the pictures.



One thought on “Kitchen Fun Kimchi

Leave a Reply

